Oficjalny Serwis Miasta Wałbrzycha

Worth Seeing

Administratively, Wałbrzych has the status an urban borough; its boundaries encompass an area of 85 square kilometres, and is inhabited by about 126 thousand people.

The Książ Castle in Wałbrzych

the third largest castle in Poland. Książ was built in the 13th Century by the prince of Świdnica and Jawor - Bolko I as a small keep. During the centuries it was extended by successive lords, until it became the beautiful and majestic castle as we know it now. Książ is often called "The Lower-Silesian Versailles", mainly because of the number of chambers (over 400) and fireplaces (over 200). The castle location, which is surrounded by the picturesque valley of the Pełcznica river, in the midst of old forests of the Książ Scenic Park - gives to it a fantastic, fairy-tale charm.

Wałbrzych, 1 Piastów Śląskich Str., 
tel. +48 (74) 6643800;
e-mail: zamek@ksiaz.walbrzych.pl 

The Książ Stud and Stables

located near the castle, its historic structure was used for centuries as stable and carriage facilities for the Książ Castle. Nowadays it has one of the most beautiful roofed riding horse-riding facilities in Europe.
Wałbrzych, 1 Jeździecka Str., tel. +48 (74) 8405860

The Palm House

one of only five in Poland, located in the neighbourhood of the Książ Castle, is a great attraction for tropical vegetation lovers. On an area of about 1900 square metres over 80 plant species are grown. The walls from inside are covered by volcanic dust from the Etna. Visitors can take a rest here and quench their thirst in "Pod Tropikiem" café.
Wałbrzych, 158 Wrocławska Str., tel. +48 (74) 6663315

The Wałbrzych Market Square

it is the place where markets had taken place every week. In the first half of the 18th century the wooden town-hall was built in the middle of Square. The town-hall was surrounded by trade-structures and arcaded tenement houses. Today three of the oldest of them deserve special attention: House under and Anchor, House with Three Roses and Tenement House under the Atlantes. They date back to the times of heyday of the linen trade in the town. Famous wine bars were situated in tenement houses No.5 to 9, where the great Goethe would drink wine during his visit in 1790. Today's Market Square appearance is an effect of its renovation in 1997-1999.

Former Czettritz's Palace

built in the years 1604-1628 - today's site of the District authorities. 
Wałbrzych, 1 Zamkowa Str.


Former Alberti Family Palace

built in 1801 in classicistic style, is today's Regional Museum of Wałbrzych. The Museum exhibits a unique collection connected with: mining, geology, ceramics and the town's history.

Wałbrzych, 9 1 Maja Str., tel. +48 (74) 8524845; http://ww.muzeum.walbrzych.com.pl
e-mail: muzeum@muzeum.walbrzych.com.pl

Church of St. Mary the Painful

built in 1305, converted in 1720 in the Baroque style - was a funeral chapel. According to an old legend, the church was the beginning of settlement Wałbrzych.
Wałbrzych, Kościelny Square/ 1 Maja Str.

Neo-Gothic Catholic Church of the Guardian Angels,

built in 1899-1904 in exchange of a Renaissance church from 1438. Wałbrzych, Moniuszki Str. (Near the Market Square)

Classicistic Evangelical Church

built in 1785-1788 according to the project by the architect J.G. Langhans - creator of the Brandenburg Gate in Berlin,

Museum of Industry and Technology

branch of the Regional Museum in Wałbrzych - presenting mining history of Wałbrzych - the town connected with coal mining for centuries. The Museum is situated in old mining structure "July".
Wałbrzych, 30 Andersa Str., tel. +48 (74) 8422031

We invite to Wałbrzych all those searching for healthy effort, active tourism, and those looking for a break and a rest in contact with nature and historic monuments.